Seven Species Tallit


This striking Shivat Haminim Tallit (“Seven Species Tallit”) features a rich red and blue pattern. Vibrant pattern features the Seven Species for which the Land of Israel is praised in the Torah: wheat, barley, olives, grapes, dates, figs and pomegranates.

Shivat Haminim Tallit

Click on image

Seven Species Tallit Sizes

Size 24 (24 x 72 inches, 60 x 180 cm) $85
Size 40 (32 x 72 inches, 80 x 180 cm) $105
Size 45 (40 x 72 inches, 100 x 180 cm) $115
Size 50 (48 x 72 inches, 120 x 180 cm) $125
Size 60 (56 x 72 inches, 140 x 180 cm) $135

Matching Bag – $14.50

Buy Seven Species Tallit>>>

About the Seven Species Tallit

Various references to the Seven Species, the inspiration for the Seven Species Tallit, can be found in the Bible and the Mishnah states that only first fruits (bikkurim) of the Seven Species could be brought to the Temple as offerings. Wheat fields, vineyards and olive groves are still a salient feature of the Land of Israel landscape today.

Bnei Yisrael cultivated both wheat and barley, which are mentioned first in the enumeration of the Seven Species.

The Seven Species, also known as Shivat Haminim, are traditionally eaten on Tu Bishvat and in halacha they are considered more important than other fruits; a special blessing is recited after eating them.

Chapter 8 of Devarim, in which the Seven Species are listed, begins: “All the commandments that I give you this day you shall carefully observe, that you may live and multiply, and go in and inherit the land which the Lord swore to give to your fathers….” The text continues with the description of the Promised Land, including the Seven Species, and ends with the dire warning: “If you forget the Lord your God and follow other gods and serve them and worship them, I solemnly warn you this day that you shall surely perish.”

According to Nogah Hareuveni, the specific emphasis on these Seven Species, which inspired the design of the Shivat Haminim Tallit, is woven into the description of the land of Israel — a description that serves as the backdrop for the warning to obey the 613 commandments.

Seven Species Tallit – Prices & Details>>>

 Posted by at 5:10 am